top of page
Search

Midterm Project - Flappy Bird Remake

For my midterm project, I decided to make Flappy Bird in Javascript, which I learned with some research was not originally written in this language. I didn't think it would be too difficult of a task at first but it only got more difficult as I added more and more code. One line messing up the entire script is extremely frustrating, but I had to watch several different YouTube tutorials to get it done. In simple terms, I created a yellow ellipse which was the bird, with a downward movement, but the bird would move upwards with the click of the space bar button. Along with that, I added green rectangles, which are the pipes like the original game, and when your bird collides with them, you get a (what I think is) funny game over screen and instructions on how to restart the game. The most difficult part of this project was the pipe work, however I attempted to add a timer so you could see how long you could go for, along with some images from the actual game itself such as the background. The image variable was also giving me a ton of trouble but I watched more YouTube tutorials on my issues and managed to fix it myself, now I could just use assistance fixing my timer and maybe adding a start screen to perfect my game. I did want the screen to freeze when you lose and have my message come up but I wasn't too sure on how to make that happen. I was also thinking of adding the real pipes and bird images but not only was my computer lagging trying to run this code already with just one image, I think the hit detection wouldn't have been as accurate with the pixels around the bird and pipes. I also did not want to just copy Flappy Bird exactly piece for piece, and I like the rather simplistic look my objects have on top of the real background from the game. Other than that, I don't have any other self critiques. Maybe I could add coins in between the pipes if I wanted to make things more interesting?

Code: https://editor.p5js.org/cwebb3/sketches/XxbMXqmQg

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Project

For my final project I decided to make the Google Chrome dinosaur game but more so Mario themed. At first it wasn't too difficult especially since some of the code and concept is similar to Flappy Bir

Final Project Idea

For this final project, I've considered making a horror game of some kind, one that is kind of a point and click game with jumpscares using the audio code we learned along with the image code to make

Assignment 7: Objects

This code is of the Objects coding we learned which actually makes things easier and more organized in my opinion. Here I made some funny looking faces and had them bouncing off the sides really fast,

bottom of page